The SAMM Committee for 2018

Paul Shard – Commodore

Martin Beenham – Treasurer
My working life has been spent in computing and IT in various roles. I run my own business for a few years but ended up working in London for Investec Bank as a Divisional Director for Techical Services (mainly computer systems). I was responsible (among other things!) for the Budget of all things technical and hope my experience will be useful to SAMM as I am a fair “spreadsheet jockey”.

My water sports started off in university where I became Diving Officer of the college branch of the BSAC. I took on responsibility for the dive boat and learnt how to take fixes, read tide tables and charts. No GPS in those days of course, just a compass, depth sounder and log.

Later on I volunteered for the local Scout Group as a water activities instructor and did RYA training for dinghy and powerboat together with canoeing.

My Wife and I bought a Villa in Los Alcazares (Oasis) in 2005 and since I retired we have spent up to 6 months there.

I was attracted to SAMM at the Caldero day in 2017 because the people seemed a jolly bunch and now I am a member of the Balaton group. I look forward to contributing to SAMM as best I can and making new friends.

Dave Hardwick –  Secretary


My wife, Di, and I retired to Spain at the end of 2014 after a career of teaching mostly in middle schools. I spent a good few years teaching forces children in Germany and with my eldest son, learned to sail with the army on the Mohne See.
It has been a pleasure to get back into sailing and to meet many new friends.










Terry Chapman – Race Committee Chair

Janice Penning – Membership Secretary

Jill Chorley – Chairman SAMM Social Scene

Pat Fleck – Website Manager

For this Website Manager Role, I need help from your information sources so I can edit our website as necessary, along with a few others with Editor permissions.   With the help of our contractors, mainly Kay, of  “IT Solutions” in Spain, we built this website and continue to improve it.  All ideas are welcome!  Just email me at:

Committee Meetings

Our Committee meets regularly at convenient times, to discuss the Agenda agreed with the Secretary, and previously received opinions of any Committee received by email.  Details are recorded and published in the Member’s section of the website.  Any communication can be made directly to the Committee by email to our Secretary, Dave Hardwick, at: and will be passed to the most appropriate Committee Member for later discussion.

A new Committee is normally elected at each January AGM.